Updated December 21, 2016 9:04 PM
Here the name has become corrupted.
It was named after one of the lords of the manor of Great bolton, Samuel
Little is known about Samuel Crooke. In 1746 he obtained a faculty as owner of the "Swann Inn," to take up and remove two forms or stalls, and in room thereof to erect one handsome and convenient pew.
Crook St was not a newly planned street, as were others, It's present alignment already existed as a rural road before the enclosure of the Moor, and it had half-a-dozen or so dwellings along it, including the picturesque cottages at Sweet Green.
Sweet Green house, where the eccentric Parson Folds lived, was opposite Hick Hargreaves works.
Even after the first quarter of the 19th century not much of the street was built along.
The old houses on the left from Great Moor St end which were demolished in the late 1930s were probably built about the end of the 18th century. They were interesting examples of a type of domestic architecture of the period, and at the time many thought it was a pity they could not be preserved.
The Railway came to the street in 1828, two years before the Liverpool-Manchester railway was opened.It crossed the street from Great moor St to the pits at Hulton, and was soon afterwards extended to Leigh.
All the site has now been redeveloped more than once gone making way for car parks and retail park, but the Sweet Green Tavern stills remains there today.
1948 September 24th
1973 August 20th
Ex St Marks School/Church
Georgina Matthews, Cecilia Rollinson,
Photo courtesy of Closed Pubs
Ian Charles Atherton,